Eo-learn tutorial/documentation for preprocessing Sentinel-1 data?

Hello there. Pardon me if you find it a very basic question. I am a newbie when it comes to eo-learn. I’m wondering if there is any tutorial or any step-by-step guide for using eo-learn library for crop-type mapping using Sentinel-1 data. I’ve seen plenty of tutorials so far but all i’m seeing are using Sentinel-2 including the documentation of eo-learn itself. I specifically want to learn how to preprocess Sentinel-1 (using my own data from local storage) for machine learning application. I hope somebody can help me through this. Just dropping any tutorial links that uses Sentinel-1 will be helpful.

Hi @reyrey

In principle you can try with the same examples as for using Sentinel-2, but inputting S-1 data. That being said, the preprocessing of Sentinel-1 data is usually quite important, and different backscatter coefficients are proposed for different applications, in agriculture typically a ratio of VV/VH.

Using Sentinel-Hub, you can “skip” preprocessing, as Sentinel-Hub can do it for you: you can request orthorectified, radiometric terrain-corrected product with applied Lee speckle filtering. In eo-learn, you can get this using the following snippet:

evalscript = """
// your evalscript
"""

card4l_processing = {
    "backCoeff": "GAMMA0_TERRAIN",
    "orthorectify": True,
    "demInstance": "COPERNICUS",
    "downsampling": "BILINEAR",
    "upsampling": "BILINEAR"
}

get_s1_asc = SentinelHubEvalscriptTask(
    features={
        FeatureType.DATA: {'VV', 'VH', 'ANGLE'},
        FeatureType.MASK: {'MASK'},
        FeatureType.META_INFO: {'card4l_metadata'}
    },
    evalscript=evalscript,
    data_collection=DataCollection.SENTINEL1_IW_ASC,
    resolution=RESOLUTION,
    time_difference=dt.timedelta(minutes=TIME_DELTA),
    aux_request_args={'processing': card4l_processing},
    max_threads=MAX_THREADS,
    config=sh_config
)