What are differences between S2A and S2B cameras technically?

I need exact wavelenghts ranges of Sentinel2A and Sentinel2B bands.
Thanks…

I am not sure, what you are looking for. Technical information about Sentinel-2 can be found here.
If you would like to get reflectance value from Sentinel Hub, you need to:

• configure the layer such as “return [B02,B03,B04,B08];”
  • set format to 32-bit float
    Read this note.

Hi :slight_smile: thank you for reply. I need exact values of sentinel 2A and 2B bands’ wavelenghts. For example Band 8 (798-852 nm) I know there are small differences between these satellite cameras.

As far as I know, the sensors are actually configured to detect a range, not exact wavelength. So the “798-852” is the best you will get. You will notice that B8A range is overlapping the B08 one, but is narrower.

Greetings

My names are Namafe Namafe. I am one of the user’s of datasets. I am a student trying to subject a sentinel 2 image to a land cover classification. However, I wanted to find out what is the difference between S2A and S2B and which of datasets require geometric or atmospheric corrections?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

Hi Namafe,

S2A and S2B are both the same satellites in principle. It is obviously not possible to do an exactly the same copy so there are minor differences, but I think they should not affect machine learning principles. The differences are certainly much lesser than overall uncertainty, which comes with satellite data.
You do not need to apply geometric correction.
Atmospheric correction might be required, depending on your processes. Check this FAQ:
https://www.sentinel-hub.com/faq/what-kind-atmospheric-correction-available

Hi Gmilcinski

Thanks for the clarification.